This article is about how to share a ship profile with someone outside of your company. For sharing a profile with a review request, refer to Review process.
Who can share?
To share a ship profile that belongs to your company, you need to have the rights to share a ship profile. Otherwise the Share option will be disabled and greyed out.
If you receive a ship share, you are always allowed to re-share that within your company. This is independent of your rights to share ship profiles that belong to your company. Whether you are allowed to forward that share outside of your company depends on the share settings set by the owner of the ship profile.
How to share
By sharing a ship profile with someone, you are giving that user access to the ship profile on Ankeri, either as read-only or with edit rights. Included in edit rights is the ability to upload files. In order to share a ship profile with edit rights, the user sharing the ship profile must be allowed to edit the ship profile in question.
To initiate a ship profile share, click on the Share icon on the ship profile you want to share. You will then need to fill out the share form as shown on the screenshot below.
The ship profile will be shared with a user based on its email that must therefore be given. An email will be sent to the email address entered, with information about the sharing of the ship profile. If the person behind the email address is not already a registered user on Ankeri, she will be invited to create an account.
An optional message that will be included in the email sent can be supplied as a part of the profile share. That may for example contain some information about why the ship profile is being shared with that person.
By default, the ship profile is shared as read-only (Allow view only), but in case the user getting access to the share, needs to have edit rights, that sharing option can be changed to Allow edit.
Unless some expiry date is given, the share will not expire. An expiry date can either be set when the ship profile is being shared or at later stages.
Users that share a ship profile will receive automated email reminder when some of the ship profiles they have shared will expire within the next three days.
Information about shared ship profiles
Once you've shared a ship profile, a label stating Shared by you or Review request sent is added to the ship profile picture on the Ships page and information about the share is provided in the Shares tab as shown below.
The Shares tab provides information about the users that have shared access to this ship profile along with information about when it was shared and when the share will expire. As a part of the Shares tab, you will also have the option to change the settings of your shares.
- Access settings ... - gives the user the option to change the expiry date and edit access to the share. These settings options are limited to the sharer's rights, i.e. someone with read-only access cannot give edit access, etc.
- Stop sharing - will set the expiry date to now and therefore expire the share. Share history, including expired shares can be seen by clicking on the Show expired button.
- Detailed access settings ... - gives user with administration rights the option to configure access rights of the share to each of the fields in a specification. Fields can be made read-only, editable or hidden.
Note that a share that has expired can not be 'opened' again. Instead of 'extending' a share that has expired, the user must create a new one.
In a similar way, the user given an access to a shared profile will see the share as shown below. An alert box states that the ship profile is Share with you and Share tab gives basic information about the sharing of the ship profile, without providing access to the configuration options.
Note that users given an access to a share via free account are not able to view the information given in the Share tab.
For information on how to move data from your version of the ship profile to the version being shared with you, refer to Updating/editing a ship profile.
Forwarding a share
As an owner of a ship profile, you and everyone with share rights will be able to share your ship profiles with all corporate email addresses. Note that open email services such as Gmail, Yahoo, etc. domains are not allowed (exclusion list contains roughly 11,000 domain names).
The access rights (edit rights and expiry date) of a forwarded share depend on the access rights given to the person sharing the ship profile.
If a ship profile is shared with you, you are always allowed to share it with other users as long as they are your co-workers.
Whether you are allowed to forward that share outside of your company depends on the share settings set by the owner of the ship profile.
- Forward of share not allowed
- Forward allowed without any restrictions
- Forward allowed, subject to acceptance from original sharer
When a user tries to forward a share that is subject to restrictions by the profile owner, the following status is shown until the profile owner accepts the sharing.
In a similar way, the profile owner (i.e. the original sharer) is notified via email and get the following option.
When accepted, the share is displayed as shown below to the person forwarding the share. That user can also change the access to the share within own access rights.